facebook pixel
  • Deposit: $250
  • Minimum stay: 12 weeks
  • Meals: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  • Internet: Yes
  • Smoking: No
  • Can pickup airport?: Yes
  • House has pets?: Yes
  • Available from: 02 Jan 2022
  • Available to: 20 Dec 2025
  • Guests: Students
We are losing our amazing homestay student who is transferring to Auckland,. so we have a room available for a FEMALE guest only.

In our home you will be part of a caring and friendly family with my husband, myself, our daughter (who is 20) and our two current homestays (who are 17 and 34).

My husband and I are self employed professionals with flexible hours so we will have plenty of time to spend with you and help you settle in if you need. We may also be able to help you with your studies depending on the subject.

We have 1 small fluffy white dog and next door’s cat comes and goes. They are very friendly animals.

We live in a beautiful recently built 5 bed 3 bathroom home in Wigram Skies. We have unlimited high speed fibre internet, central heating and cooling, unlimited gas hot water, bedroom wall connections installed for TV if you wish to have one, street parking and an outdoor spa.

We are about 200m walk to The Landing (stores, cafes, restaurants, cinema,supermarket) and the bus stop that runs to various places including the bus exchange in Christchurch central city. The bus to Canterbury University is only a short walk away.

We have a public tennis court directly across our small road that is free to use. There is also Public gym equipment in the playing field about 5 mins away.

Your room is fully furnished with a built in double closet with full length mirror, near new double bed, drawers and desk. We can provide bedding, towels and any other linen you need. The main bathroom is the one you will use which is next door to your bedroom. Our female Homestay’s are the only ones to share the bathroom.

As a family we enjoy movies, going out to dinner, cooking, camping, travelling, board games and long talks over dinner. You are most welcome to join in any family activities and trips if you want or none at all.

Our meals are from a variety of cultures. We especially love trying out Chinese and Indian recipes. I think I have perfected Peking duck and butter chicken! We also cook a lot of great kiwi food!

We have a cleaner named Sue, who comes once a week to clean the whole house including your bathroom and vacuums and dusts your bedroom (if you want her to). Your clothes washing, making your breakfast /lunch with the food we provide, and general tidying of your room are your only responsibilities.

We consider our homestay guests a part of our family and we are there to support you in any way we can. Our last two students have come from other homestay placements where they were given different food, excluded from family events and restaurant dinners, and made to babysit children. This is NOT what a homestay is supposed to be like. You are supposed to be a part of the family so PLEASE don’t settle for anything less.

Verification

  • Featured member since 05 Nov 2018
  • Phone not verified

Contact

Similar Hosts